Tavi is not a real person. And yet, she is.

If you haven’t been introduced to Tavi Gevinson, then you haven’t truly lived.

Tavi, of thestylerookie.com, is a 14-year-old genius.

I’ve followed her blog for a few years now and there is no comparison. Tavi is a tiny fashion blogger that has made an enormous name for herself in not only the blogosphere, but in the fashion community as well. She could easily go head to head with most fashion journalists and established editors as her historical knowledge, and referentials are unbelievable. She started her blog at the age of 11 and has over 55,000 readers. Trust me, if you read her blog for longer than 3 minutes you will see precisely why this is so.

First of all, her knowledge is ridiculous. I don’t think there has been one time that I haven’t walked away from her blog thinking, “How on earth did she know that?”, or ,  ” Why can’t my references be that awesome?” , or ,” What does that even mean??”    Seriously, she has an incredible memory and is up to the minute on the latest runway collections and campaigns. In fact, don’t even be remotely surprised if she’s AT THE FREAKING SHOWS!! Designers love her because she’s so bold in her personal fashion and somehow has the educated opinions of a person who’s been in the business for 30 years.

Secondly, she is hilarious! Her wit and sarcasm make for a completely entertaining read. She is wise and even funny beyond her years. I’d take her to the zoo any day of the week.

here’s an excerpt from her blog:

“…THIS HAT IS GLORIOUS. My pal Laurel gave it to me and I can’t get over the perfect mermaid/elf-ness of it. When I wear it to school the security guards are all “NO HATS ALLOWED” but that rule has to do with gang signs and I’m pretty sure I’m not in a gang of elf mermaid grandmas. But if it exists, how do I become a member?..”

See what I’m saying? Don’t you secretly want to be her best friend now?

I know, me too.

Here are some more pictures that will make your mouth drop:

She has more personality than a room full of toddlers in tiaras. It’s incredible.

 

Leave a Reply

